A life without

The daily prompt.
 
My dear friend.
 
The lines I’m about to write seem to be much more difficult for me than they should be. I wrote this letter in my head already a thousand times but I never had the courage to actually put them down on paper. Too big seemed their impact on my life. Too difficult did it seem to me, a future without you.
 
I’ve known you since I was a little child – maybe that’s what makes it so difficult for me. I am so used to you. I never had to find alternatives. I could always count on you. You were just there. And believe me, I’m so grateful for that!
 
But I had to realize too many times that it’s so dangerous to rely on you that much. I’m depending on you. I need you everywhere I’m going. Even when I don’t want you to be at my side… you know, sometimes you just make me feel like I have to carry the weight of the world on my shoulder. It’s too much!
 
My dear, dear friend. How  I enjoy looking back on the joyful times we had together. You made me laugh, cry, smile, jump and scream! You showed me the most beautiful sights, introduced me to the most incredible facts, and you gave me hunger to discover more.  But as good as those times were, it’s hard for me to also think back to those times when you disappointed me, fooled me, lied to me! Even if you showed me how easy life could be with a little help of yours… sometimes, when I needed you the most, you refused to help me! Sometimes I just wanted to shout and scream and…. no. No. That I shouldn’t even think. Just know that I never meant to do you harm, but you knew exactly where you could hurt me the most. Sometimes completely out of the blue! I still don’t know what I did to deserve this!
 
I think by now you know what I’m intending with this letter. It’s difficult for me but I’m just going to write it… you’re leaving me. For good. I don’t want to need you anymore. I will try it. I will try a… a life without. Without my computer.
 
Thank you for your friendship, I will miss you more than I will be able to take. Of that I’m sure. But I’m optimistic that my life will be so much brighter without you. And I’m sure you’re going to find someone else very soon. Someone who can handle you better than I ever could.
 
So long, my friend. I’m curious what I’m going to do without you in the future. But for now I’m going outside – to dance in the rain.
 
K.
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vastlycurious.com
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 20:54:19

    Please don’t leave for toooo long..You seen quite creative!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

